研究计划

Sections
Left Column
Image
Image
008.jpg
Right Column
Text Area

近年来,推陈出新的人工智能应用让许多行业得以转型,例如自动驾驶汽车,医疗诊断,视频图像分析等应用。与通用芯片相比,使用专用的人工智能芯片可以更有效地训练和操作人工智能模型、更快速地处理人工智能任务和功耗更少能源的优势。根据最近的研究和市场报告,全球人工智能芯片市场预计将增长540.3亿美元,而2020-24年的复合年均增长率为42%。

为了应付市场对硬件的新兴需求,ACCESS将推动香港成为世界舞台上人工智能芯片及硬件设计的重要基地,专注于促进集成电路设计技术发展,推动以数据为本的崭新运算模式,设计高效能的人工智能硬件平台,支撑一系列的人工智能应用并设计量身打造的人工智能芯片,以实现社会上无处不在的人工智能应用。

ACCESS的研究纲领分为四个关键技术领域的研究计划,包括:

First Column
Text Area

研究计划1

Text Area

突破硬件瓶颈的新兴技术

Text Area
Second Column
Text Area

研究计划2

Text Area

架构与异构系统整合

Text Area
Third Column
Text Area

研究计划3

Text Area

人工智能辅助电子设计自动化

Text Area
Fourth Column
Text Area

研究计划4

Text Area

硬件加速的人工智能应用

Text Area
Text Area

在未来五年,ACCESS的研究将为人工智能硬件带来突破性的质量飞跃,其性能/功耗效率会比最先进的传统硬件至少高出1000倍。这项研究将会诞生新的人工智能硬件设计方式,能够大大减低设计的复杂性并缩短设计周期,从而满足市场急速发展各类人工智能应用的需求和速度,促使大规模的片上人工神经网络在智能信息处理任务中,无论性能,还是功耗效率都能与大脑匹敌。

Research Programmes

Sections
Left Column
Image
Image
008.jpg
Right Column
Text Area

The proliferation of AI applications such as autonomous vehicles, medical diagnosis, video image analytics has fuelled the transformation of many industries. With the introduction of specialised AI chips, it makes training and running AI models much more efficient and effective and provides the benefits of handling AI tasks faster and consuming less power than general-purpose chips. According to a recent Research and Markets report, the global AI chips market is forecasted to grow by US$ 54.03 billion, with a CAGR of 42% during 2020-2024.  

To cope with this emerging demand on hardware, ACCESS is putting Hong Kong on the global map of AI chip and hardware design with research focus on advancing integrated circuit (IC) design technologies to enable novel data-centric computing paradigms supporting a wide range of AI applications. We also focus on the research theme of designing customized AI chips to realise ubiquitous AI applications in society.

The research agenda in ACCESS is organised into 4 research programmes, addressing four key technical areas:

First Column

RP1

Text Area

Enabling Technology for Emerging Computing Systems

Text Area
Second Column

RP2

Text Area

Architecture and Heterogeneous System Integration

Text Area
Third Column

RP3

Text Area

AI-Assisted EDA (Electronic Design Automation) for AI Hardware

Text Area
Fourth Column

RP4

Text Area

Hardware-Accelerated AI Applications

Text Area
Text Area

Within five years, ACCESS research will lead to AI hardware with at least 1000× improvement in performance/ energy over the conventional state-of-the-art hardware. Even more exciting, the research will result in design methodology capable of taming the design complexity and shortening the design cycle to better meet the time-to-market requirements, and enabling large-scale on-chip artificial neural networks capable of rivaling biological counterparts in performance and energy efficiency in intelligent information processing tasks.