研究计划2 - 架构和异构系统集成

Sections
Text Area

研究计划2专注于探索从云端到智能物联网平台上的高效类脑计算(Neuromorphic)的新架构以及系统集成解决方案。

Left Column
Text Area

CPU-加速器异构体系的通讯接口及操作系统支持

研究项目2-1:

Right Column
Image
Image
RP2-1.png
Image Caption
图 研究项目2-1: CPU与加速器之间不同的通讯接口设计
Text Area

研究项目2-1专注于优化CPU和专用加速器之间的基于存储的通讯接口。同时,考虑云端训练中多处理器多主机系统所需的通讯接口和操作系统/计算架构的高可扩展性和高效率支持。项目提出了针对存储子系统的专门优化方法,以解决近内存计算(near-memory computing)和存内计算(in-memory computing)中通讯问题的挑战。项目进一步研究创新的计算架构和操作系统支持,以便高效地实现多用户环境下的以内存为中心的计算。

Left Column
Text Area

面向深度神经网络特性的计算机体系优化

研究项目2-2:

Right Column
Image
Image
RP2-2.png
Image Caption
图 研究项目2-2: 张量处理及深度量化的视频识别网络
Text Area

研究项目2-2包括研究神经网络建模和设计算法领域具有前景的新方法,实现复杂性-准确性的优化权衡和存储空间需求缩减的压缩神经网络。同时,我们还将研究深度神经网络的基本结构模块,并通过学习如何学习(learning how to learn)来搜索全局最优的深度神经网络结构。项目也将研发相应结构优化方法,探索和实现优化的张量阶数、量化深度和最优的基本结构模块。

Left Column
Text Area

用于传感器边缘设备的节能 AI 加速器

研究项目2-3:

Right Column
Image
Image
RP2-3.png
Image Caption
图 研究项目2-3: 搭配传感器阵列的混合模拟/数字存内计算架构
Text Area

研究项目2-3为推理引擎设计搭配传感器阵列的混合模拟/数字存内计算(in-memory computing)架构,包括将数据处理功能嵌入到传感器中,以减少传感器和计算引擎之间的数据传输,以及存内计算架构以减少高代价的内存访问。本项目将为不同类型的传感器读取接口以及低分辨率网络开发相应的模拟计算架构,以减少使用昂贵的高分辨率模拟/数字转换器和降低数字层中的计算复杂度。

Left Column
Text Area

面向大型神经网络的CMOS-ReRAM存内计算加速器架构优化

研究项目2-4:

Right Column
Image
Image
RP2-4.png
Image Caption
图 研究项目RP2-4: 基于CMOS-ReRAM的存内计算加速器架构
Text Area

研究项目2-4 专注于开发基于新兴的非易失性存储(non-volatile memory)技术的 AI 加速器架构。通过使用基于 ReRAM 的交叉开关矩阵作为存内计算引擎,提出和实现可扩展和节能的架构,以实现大规模的可量化训练的网络。本项目将提出最高有效位优先(Most-significant-bits-first, MSBF)的计算模型和内存压缩算法,以减少权重存储量和增加计算稀疏度。项目的目标是将能量效率进一步提高一个数量级。

RP2 - Architecture and Heterogeneous System Integration

Sections
Text Area

RP2 focuses on exploring different new architectural and system integration solutions for efficient neuromorphic computing on platforms ranging from cloud to smart Internet of Things (IoT).

Left Column

Communication Interface and OS / Architectural Support for CPU-Accelerator Heterogenous Architecture

RP2-1:

Right Column
Image
Image
RP2-1.png
Image Caption
Figure RP2-1: Different interface design between CPU and hardware accelerator
Text Area

Project RP2-1 focus on optimizing the memory communication interface between CPU and the dedicated accelerator. Meanwhile, the multi-accelerator multi-host system in cloud training requires to consider the communication interface and OS/Architectural support with high scalability and efficiency. Dedicated optimization of the memory subsystem is proposed to address the introduced challenges from the near-memory/in-memory communication issue. Architectural innovations and OS support are further investigated to efficiently facilitate memory-centric computing in a multi-user environment. testing

Left Column

Architecture Optimization Considering the Characteristics of the Deep Neural Networks

RP2-2:

Right Column
Image
Image
RP2-2.png
Image Caption
Figure RP2-2: Video comprehension network integrating tensorization and quantization
Text Area

Project RP2-2 will encompass new and promising initiatives in neural network modeling and design algorithms to provide a compressed network that can achieve optimal complexity-accuracy tradeoff and storage reduction. At the same time, we will also study the fundamental building blocks of a deep neural network and search for the globally optimal DNN structures by learning how to learn. The corresponding architectures that can exploit the optimized tensor ranks, bit quantization and the optimal building block structures will also be developed.

Left Column

Energy Efficient AI Accelerators for Sensor-based Edge Devices

RP2-3:

Right Column
Image
Image
RP2-3.png
Image Caption
Figure RP2-3: Mixed analog/ digital in-memory computation architecture interfacing with sensor
Text Area

In Project RP2-3, a mixed analog/digital in-memory computation architecture interfacing with sensor array is devised for the inference engine. This project includes embedding some data processing functionality within the sensors to reduce the data movement between the sensor and the computation engine, in-memory computation architecture to reduce the costly memory movement. Different analog computation architectures will be developed for different types of sensor readout interfaces, as well as low-resolution networks to reduce the costly high resolution A/D conversion and the computation complexity in the digital layers.

Left Column

Architectural Optimization of In-Memory CMOS-ReRAM Accelerator for Large-Scale Neural Network

RP2-4:

Right Column
Image
Image
RP2-4.png
Image Caption
Figure RP2-4: An In-memory accelerator architecture based on CMOS-ReRAM
Text Area

Project RP2-4 focus on developing AI accelerator architecture based on the emerging non-volatile memory technologies. By using the ReRAM-based crossbar as in-memory computation engine, a scalable and energy-efficient architecture is proposed to realize large-scale quantization-trained network. Most-significant-bits-first (MSBF) computation paradigms and memory compression algorithms will be proposed for reducing the amount of weight storage and increasing the computation sparsity. Improving the energy efficiency by another order of magnitude is the goal.