研究计划4 - 硬件加速的人工智能应用

Sections
Text Area

研究计划4针对一些选定的新兴应用进行硬件加速,通过探索特定于目标应用的系统架构和新的设计工具,实现 AI 硬件在速度和能效方面的突破。

Left Column
Text Area

用于 3D 成像应用的智能像素阵列

研究项目4-1:

Right Column
Image
Image
Figure RP4-1: Technology of integrating sensors and data-analytic chip
Image Caption
图 研究项目4-1: 传感器余数据分析芯片的集成技术
Text Area

研究项目4-1 提出将智能 3-D 特征提取算法与专为 3-D目标检测和运动预测而设计的新型传感器集成。相应的系统可用于许多新的应用,包括自动驾驶车辆、手势控制和增强现实。 本项目将设计一种新型传感器以实现高效率和低功耗的数据采集,并将其与处理和识别电路紧密集成。 为了提高智能传感系统的有效性,本项目将考虑使用背面照明(BSI)技术将预制的图像传感器阵列绑定到一个基于网格的数据分析 ASIC 芯片上。

Left Column
Text Area

设计安全的机器学习加速器

研究项目4-2:

Right Column
Image
Image
Figure RP4-2: Compute-in-memory NN accelerator
Image Caption
图 研究项目RP4-2: 基于存内计算的神经网络加速器
Text Area

研究项目4-2包括对具有非易失性存储器( NVM)的机器学习(ML)加速器所面临的安全挑战的评估,并且提出相应的应对技术。 基于NVM的存内计算(computing in-memory, CIM) 有望解决嵌入式存储器和带宽的设计挑战。 然而,由于神经网络的权重存储在 NVM 中,使用 NVM 可能会引入硬件安全漏洞。 本项目将尝试结合我们已有的在机器学习加速器和硬件安全方面的专业积累,解决上述问题。

Left Column
Text Area

实现超快速医疗诊断的人工智能硬件

研究项目4-3:

Right Column
Image
Image
Figure RP4-3: A low-lantency FPGA board-level prototype for real-time cell labeling
Image Caption
图 研究项目4-3:用于实时细胞标记的低延迟FPGA板级原型系统
Text Area

本研究项目将开拓现代FPGA和IoT开发板的独特功能,将其作为混合的高层计算平台和底层集成系统,在实时医疗图像分析应用中达到最低的处理延时。本项目也将基于研究项目1-1和研究项目1-2项目开发的技术,进一步优化速度和功耗,实现芯片级的人工智能功能集成。

Left Column
Text Area

硬件加速的联邦学习系统

研究项目4-4:

Right Column
Image
Image
Figure RP4-4: An illustration of a secure and efficient federated learning system
Image Caption
图 研究项目RP4-4:一个安全且高效的联邦学习系统示例
Text Area

研究项目4-4项目旨在从算法设计和硬件加速两方面解决当前联邦学习系统中的数据隐私、所有权和局部性的挑战。项目包括设计有效的算法,减少通讯和隐藏数据传输延时;用FPGA实现硬件加速;将计算密集型数据包的处理以及加密/解密等卸载到FPGA上实现的数据平面;以及采用有效的网络协议,实现数据包处理和加密的硬件加速。

RP4 - Hardware-Accelerated AI Applications

Sections
Text Area

RP4 emphasises selected emerging applications for hardware acceleration, exploring system architecture and new design tools specific to the target applications to achieve breakthroughs in AI hardware in speeds and energy efficiency.

Left Column

Intelligent Pixels Array for 3-D Imaging Applications

RP4-1:

Right Column
Image
Image
Figure RP4-1: Technology of integrating sensors and data-analytic chip
Image Caption
Figure RP4-1: Technology of integrating sensors and data-analytic chip
Text Area

Project RP4-1 proposes to integrate intelligent 3-D feature extraction algorithm with new sensors designed for 3-D object detection and motion prediction. The system can be used for many new applications including autonomous vehicles, gesture control and augmented reality. A new type of sensors will be design to achieve high efficiency and low power data collection, which will be tightly integrated with the processing and identification circuits. To improve the effectiveness of the intelligent sensing system, the Back-Side Illumination (BSI) technology maybe used to bond a pre-fabricated image sensor array onto a grid-based ASIC chip.

Left Column

Design Secure Machine Learning Accelerator

RP4-2:

Right Column
Image
Image
Figure RP4-2: Compute-in-memory NN accelerator
Image Caption
Figure RP4-2: Compute-in-memory NN accelerator
Text Area

Project RP4-2 covers the assessment of the security challenges in the ML accelerator with NVMs and the proposal of the corresponding countermeasure techniques. Non-volatile memory (NVM) based compute-in-memory (CIM) is promising in solving the design challenge on embedded memory and bandwidth. But the usage of NVMs may introduce the hardware security vulnerabilities, as the weights are stored in the NVMs. This project addresses this issue. This research will combine PI’s expertise in machine learning accelerator and hardware security.

Left Column

Artificial Intelligence Hardware in Ultra-Fast Medical Diagnostics

RP4-3:

Right Column
Image
Image
Figure RP4-3: A low-lantency FPGA board-level prototype for real-time cell labeling
Image Caption
Figure RP4-3: A low-lantency FPGA board-level prototype for real-time cell labeling
Text Area

The goal of this project is to exploit the unique capabilities of modern field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) and/or Internet of Things (IoT) boards to serve as a hybrid high-level computational platform and as a low-level integrated system to achieve the lowest possible processing latency for real-time image analytic applications. The system will be further optimized in terms of speed and power consumptions based on technologies developed in RP1-1 and RP1-2 to achieve chip level AI function integration.

Left Column

Hardware-Accelerated Federated Learning System

RP4-4:

Right Column
Image
Image
Figure RP4-4: An illustration of a secure and efficient federated learning system
Image Caption
Figure RP4-4: An illustration of a secure and efficient federated learning system
Text Area

Project RP4-4 addresses the challenges of privacy, ownership, and locality of data in today’s federated learning system from both algorithm design and hardware acceleration. This includes designing efficient algorithms to minimize the communication and hide the data transfer delay, building hardware acceleration with FPGA, offloading the computation intensive packet processing, encryption/decryption into data plane implemented on FPGA, as well as employing effective network protocols to facilitate the hardware acceleration for the packet processing and encryption.